Tolkien Gateway


(Difference between revisions)
m (Genealogy)
Line 56: Line 56:
{{familytree| DU1 | |DU1='''DURIN I'''</br><small>''fl. {{YT}}''</small>}}
{{familytree| DU1 | |DU1=[[Durin|Durin I]]</br><small>''fl. {{YT}}''</small>}}
{{familytree| |:| | |}}
{{familytree| |:| | |}}
{{familytree| DU2 | |DU2=[[Durin II]]</br><small>''fl. late {{FA}}/early {{SA}}''</small>}}
{{familytree| DU2 | |DU2=[[Durin II]]</br><small>''fl. {{SA|750}}''</small>}}
{{familytree| |:| | |}}
{{familytree| |:| | |}}
{{familytree| DU3 | |DU3=[[Durin III]]</br><small>''fl. mid {{SA}}''</small>}}
{{familytree| DU3 | |DU3='''DURIN III'''</br><small>''fl. {{SA|1600}}''</small>}}
{{familytree| |:| | |}}
{{familytree| |:| | |}}
{{familytree| DU4 | |DU4=[[Durin IV]]</br><small>''fl. late {{SA}}/early {{TA}}''</small>}}
{{familytree| DU4 | |DU4=[[Durin IV]]}}
{{familytree| |:| | |}}
{{familytree| |:| | |}}
{{familytree| DU5 | |DU5=[[Durin V]]</br><small>''fl. late {{SA}}/early {{TA}}''</small>}}
{{familytree| DU5 | |DU5=[[Durin V]]}}
{{familytree| |:| | |}}
{{familytree| |:| | |}}
{{familytree| DUR | |DUR=[[Durin VI]]<br/><small>''{{TA|1731}} - {{TA|1980|n}}''†</small>}}
{{familytree| DUR | |DUR=[[Durin VI]]<br/><small>''{{TA|1731}} - {{TA|1980|n}}''†</small>}}

Revision as of 23:03, 22 February 2019

The name Durin refers to more than one character, item or concept. For a list of other meanings, see Durin (disambiguation).
Liz Danforth - Durin I.jpg
"Durin I" by Liz Danforth
Biographical Information
Other namesDurin the Deathless
"Father of the Dwarves"
TitlesKing of Durin's Folk
King of Khazad-dûm
LocationGundabad, Khazad-dûm
AffiliationSeven Fathers of the Dwarves
BirthBetween Y.T. 1050 and Y.T. 1250[1]
Mount Gundabad
RuleYears of the Trees[1] - Late First Age[2]
DeathLate First Age[2] (aged at least 2,395)
Notable forFounding Khazad-dûm
HouseFounded the House of Durin
ParentageNone; created by Aulë
Physical Description
GalleryImages of Durin

Durin I (Years of the TreesFirst Age), also known as Durin the Deathless due to his longevity, was the first of the seven Fathers of the Dwarves, the founder of the city of Khazad-dûm, and the first king of the Longbeards.



Ted Nasmith - Aulë and the Seven Fathers

Long before the awakening of the Elves it is said that Aulë, yearning for the Children of Ilúvatar, fashioned the Seven Fathers of the Dwarves in a hall under the mountains in Middle-earth. Pleased with his work, Aulë was instructing his creations in the speech he had devised for them when Ilúvatar rebuked him, pointing out that they were mere counterfeits that would only stand idle without Aulë’s will. Aulë humbled himself before Ilúvatar and prepared to destroy the Dwarves, but at that moment Ilúvatar gave them independent life. However, Ilúvatar would not suffer their arrival in the world before the Firstborn, so the seven fathers were laid to sleep until after the coming of the Elves.[3]

Ilúvatar commanded Aulë to lay the sleeping fathers in deep places, each with a mate, save Durin the eldest who had none.[4] Durin was set to sleep under Mount Gundabad in the Misty Mountains during the Years of the Trees.[5]

King of the Longbeards

Ted Nasmith - Durin I Discovers the Three Peaks

When he awoke he journeyed south alone through the wild where no person ever wandered before, and gave name to "nameless hills and dells", perhaps Azanulbizar and the nearby features[6]. He came upon Kheled-zâram. Looking upon mysterious stars set like a crown reflected in its surface, he took this as a sign, and there in the caves above the lake, founded a great city. This was Khazad-dûm, later called Moria, and for many years it was the greatest Dwarven city in Middle-earth.[2]

Durin was the founder of the Longbeards house, which became known as Durin's folk. He lived to a great age even by the measure of the Dwarves until he was known as "The Deathless". However, he was not actually immortal, and died sometime during the First Age.[2]

All that can be known for certain about his age, is that he was born before Y.T. 1250[1] and died before the end of the First Age.[2] This makes Durin at least 2,395 years old, about ten-times the lifespan of Dwarves.[note 1]


The Longbeards believed that Durin would return to them seven times, and in each reincarnation he will again be named Durin and reign as King. He did have six descendants that were named Durin, all were kings of Durin's folk.[2]

Durin's Axe, a great heirloom of Durin's folk, was probably his; it was apparently found when Balin and his colony came to Khazad-dûm in T.A. 2989.[7][8]


Durinn is one of the Dwarfs in the Dvergatal. The name means "Sleepy".[9]


Durin I
fl. Y.T.
Durin II
fl. S.A. 750
fl. S.A. 1600
Durin IV
Durin V
Durin VI
T.A. 1731 - 1980


  1. Years of the Sun. Each Year of the Trees is equal to 9.582 Years of the Sun, and the Years of the Trees ended in the year 1500. So, 9.582 x 250 = 2,395.


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 J.R.R. Tolkien, Christopher Tolkien (ed.), The War of the Jewels, "The Grey Annals": §19
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings, Appendix A, "Durin's Folk"
  3. J.R.R. Tolkien, Christopher Tolkien (ed.), The Silmarillion, "Quenta Silmarillion: Of Aulë and Yavanna"
  4. J.R.R. Tolkien; Humphrey Carpenter, Christopher Tolkien (eds.), The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien, Letter 212, (dated 14 October 1958)
  5. J.R.R. Tolkien, Christopher Tolkien (ed.), The Peoples of Middle-earth, "Of Dwarves and Men"
  6. J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings, The Fellowship of the Ring, "A Journey in the Dark"
  7. J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings, The Fellowship of the Ring, "The Bridge of Khazad-dûm"
  8. J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings, Appendix B, "The Third Age"
  9. Chester Nathan Gould, "Dwarf-Names: A Study in Old Icelandic Religion", published in Publications of the Modern Language Association of America, Vol 44 (1929), issue #4, pp. 939-967
Durin I
House of Durin
Position created
King of Durin's FolkUnknown
Next known:
Durin II
King of Khazad-dûm

Kings of Durin's Folk
Durin I* (Y.T.) · Durin II* · Durin III* (fl. S.A. 1600) · Durin IV* · Durin V* · Durin VI* (until T.A. 1980) · Náin I* (1980 - 1981) · Thráin I (1981 - 2190) · Thorin I (2190 - 2289) · Glóin (2289 - 2385) · Óin (2385 - 2488) · Náin II (2488 - 2585) · Dáin I (2585 - 2589) · Thrór (2585 - 2790) · Thráin II (2790 - 2850) · Thorin II Oakenshield (2850 - 2941) · Dáin II Ironfoot (2941 - 3019) · Thorin III Stonehelm (T.A. 3019 - Fourth Age) · Durin VII (Fourth Age)*
* Kings of Khazad-dûm · Kings under the Mountain